Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? by P.D. Eastman

As coordinator of the children’s literature program in my department, I am always looking for bilingual books that work for elementary school kids.  I am going to review Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? (Random House) by P.D. Eastman (2016) today. In fine list fashion, I am going to give you three reasons why I like this book.

It emphasizes language play. Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? really helps elementary kids learn to appreciate both the English and Spanish sentences. The blue Spanish sentences help kids make the distinction between the two languages, and adults can have fun with reading aloud in either or both languages.  English- and Spanish-speaking readers could also do a paired reading.  

It helps readers consider pictures as texts. When we think of bilingual books, we often want to think about the two languages. But what about the pictures? Not only can readers learn to comprehend the story in two languages, but they can also learn to read images.  Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? emphasizes that the real beauty of a story is not only the language(s) in which it is told but the beauty of the message. 

It’s about the relationship between a child and mother. Those of you who know me know how close I am to my mom, so this book was a nice read on a chilly, busy Friday afternoon with my mom many miles away. Behind its humor and silliness, Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? shares a powerful message about the never-ending love of a child and mother.

Let me know what you think of Are You My Mother? / Eres tu mi mama? in the comments below!

Rating: img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

Leave a Reply

