Everything I Need to Know About Christmas I Learned from a Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow

Merry Christmas!  Christmas is one of my favorite days of the year! I tell my husband It’s almost Christmas! throughout the year! So I’m SO excited that Christmas is finally here! There’s just something about waking up and going downstairs to see a beautiful tree. I hope you and your family are enjoying a wonderful holiday season!

Today I decided to review Diane Muldrow‘s Everything I Need to Know About Christmas I Learned from a Little Golden Book (2016, Penguin Random House). My husband purchased this children’s picture book for me last week, and we took a look at it together the other evening.

Muldrow uses pictures from multiple Golden Books holiday books to create a story about the true reason for the season. And this is definitely reason enough to share the book with younger readers. Kids and adults alike will enjoy the multitude of illustrations and how Muldrow weaves together the book’s message.

But you know I like books that exist at multiple levels for multiple types of readers. A great example of intertextualityEverything …. can be used in children’s literature courses or writing workshop to teach writers how to compose a new text by using previously-created texts. This book could also be looked at in terms of a mash-up. Readers could look at Everything … and compare and contrast it to DJ Earworm’s Summermash ’16 video. Who ever thought of using a Little Golden Book and a mash-up music video featuring the likes of Drake and Justin Timberlake?!?!

Have a very Merry Christmas!  And let me know what you’re reading this holiday season!

Rating: flakeflakeflakeflake

Leave a Reply

