Bee by Britta Teckentrup

I’m pleased to share Bee (2016, Little Tiger Press) with you today.  Illustrated by Britta Teckentrup, this children’s peek-through picture book is a wonderful book to complement a science or arts integration curriculum.

You know I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE children’s picture books with beautiful illustrations, and Bee definitely hits the mark with its gorgeous portrayal of a bee’s impact on nature. Here’s a sample of the stunning collage work in Bee:

bee11-768x470
This collage is featured on the blog Library Mice

As readers progress through the book’s rhyming couplets, they will learn about how the bee pollinates flowers and trees. The book’s message about how one bee can have so much of an influence is inspiring.

Bee is a children’s picture book that combines my love of beautiful artwork and poetry. I don’t know if I can ask for anything else!

Here are some teaching ideas for Bee:

(1) Pair it with one of my other nonfiction children’s book fav: Flowers Are Calling. These books will work together well in a nonfiction text set about pollination.

(2) Have students create their own peek-through picture book to showcase new knowledge about a particular topic. Read here for a blog post about Teckentrup’s collage process. I’m as big a fan of technology as there can be, but I’m also a super fan of having students work with construction paper and scissors! Even my graduate students will tell you this!

Let me know what you think of Bee in the comments below!

Rating: img-thingimg-thingimg-thingimg-thing

Leave a Reply

