Books for the Little One

One of the aspects of parenting about which I am most excited is to read to my little one. So as I prepare to help my new little one (whenever he or she may arrive) develop a love of reading, I want to share a few things with you in this blog post: First, I want to share an article I wrote for Carolina Parent a bit ago. The article is called “5 Ways to Create a Literacy-Rich Environment for Infants and Toddlers.”

And because I know parents and teachers are always looking to find new books for their home or classroom libraries, I decided to share the titles and authors of the books that are currently in my little one’s library.  What I love about his or her little library is that all of the books were chosen carefully by family, friends, and colleagues who wanted to share some of their favorite titles. Here’s the list:

Everywhere Babies (Susan Meyers)

Pat the Bunny Sleepy Bunny (A Golden Book cloth book)

Dog (Matthew Van Fleet)

I’ll Always Love You (Paeony Lewis)

First 100 Words Board Book

Catkin (Antonia Barber)

Littles and How they Grow (Kelly DiPucchio)

Oh, Baby, the Places You’ll Go! (adapted by Tish Rabe)

Are You My Mother? (P.D. Eastman)

Animal Ark (Kwame Alexander)

That’s Me Loving You (Amy Krouse Rosenthal)

A Cat Named Swan (Holly Hobbie)

A Child’s Garden of Verses (Robert Louis Stevenson)

Bear Likes Jam (Ciara Gavin)

They Saw a Cat (Brendan Wenzel)

Golden Legacy: The Story of Golden Books (Leonard S. Marcus)

Bunny’s Book Club (Annie Silvestro)

Born from the Heart (Berta Serrano)

We’re All Wonders (R.J. Palacio)

Itsy Bitsy Spider and other Nursery Rhymes (Stories in Stitches)

I Love You to the Moon and Back

Corduroy (Don Freeman)

Mister Seahorse (Eric Carle)

Little Owl’s Night (Divya Srinivasan)

I Love You, Stinky Face (Lisa McCourt)

Little Blue Truck (Alice Schertle)

Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star and Other Favorite Bedtime Rhymes

The Story of Ferdinand (Munro Leaf)

Where Are You? (Sarah Williamson)

Big Bunny (Betseygail Rand and Colleen Rand)

Richard Scary’s First Little Learners From 1 to 10

And I Have You: A Book of Mothers and Babies (Maggie Smith)

You Made Me a Mother (Laurenne Sala)

A Greyhound A Groundhog (Emily Jenkins)

A Child of Books (Oliver Jeffers and Sam Winston)

If you have suggestions for other books for the little one’s library, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

