⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ Growing Season by Maryann Cocca-Leffler

I am SO happy spring is in the air! When we moved from Florida to Pennsylvania, my husband promised the four seasons. We get a little more winter than I would like, so these past few days have been AMAZING! My little guy and I have been enjoying some park time! And I’ve been getting back into running, which has been good for the soul.

And my reviews have had a little bit of a spring focus, too. Last week I wrote about When Grandma Gives You a Lemon Tree, and today I’m sharing a beautiful book by Maryann Cocca-Leffler: Growing Season. Out from Sterling just last week, Growing Season is a charming read anytime of the year!

We all sprout at different times and at different parts in our lives! Growing Season, with its soothing narrative voice and colorful illustrations, will help many, many kids (and adults) come to believe this.

Jo and El are best friends. They do everything together. They are even the same height. Until they aren’t. The story of El’s frustration with not being as tall as Jo is paralleled by her school plant, which does not grow like the other plants throughout the school year. The ending is beautifully botanical and so important for young children to see.

A wonderful new text on the children’s picture book scene, Growing Season earns four stars. ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

One comment

Leave a comment