⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Norman: One Amazing Goldfish Written by Kelly Bennett and Illustrated by Noah Z. Jones [with teaching ideas]

Publication Date: September 8, 2020 | Grade Levels: Preschool – 3

I always love having aquariums. I had several as a little girl (my black molly even had babies), and my recent tank was about three years ago. I have had goldfish, neons, and even snails!

Today I’m going to share with you the amazing Norman! Kelly Bennett‘s sequel to Not Norman: A Goldfish Story will not disappoint. I was drawn into the story and just know my little boy will LOVE this book. It is a story about a boy and his fish, yes, but it is more of a story about an amazing friendship!

Norman’s owner has spent a lot of time training Norman for Pet-O-Roma, an Olympics of sorts for pets. Fish are a bit uncommon, but that does not stop Norman’s owner from proudly bringing Norman up on stage to show everyone just what they can do. But Norman – just like a lot of people – has stage fright, and it is up to his owner to calm him down and get on with the show.

I am always a fan of books that help children see themselves through the characters in texts. That this book normalizes stage fright is one of its greatest strengths. Fish are also less common in children’s literature texts than other animals, and I think this, too, can help students understand that not every family has to look the same. My only critique of the text is its wordiness.

Here are some teaching ideas for the book:

(1) Pair this text with others that feature characters who are shy or become nervous in front of a large group. One suggestion I have is Deborah Freedman’s Shy. Use these texts to engage students in a conversation about why people become shy or nervous in particular situations.

(2) Invite students to brainstorm ways they can overcome nerves when speaking in class. Perhaps making a class poster with strategies they can use when they are in front of their classmates will help students be supportive of one another. Younger students may even enjoy holding an object (e.g., a little fish stuffed animal) to give them strength during their presentations.

A book that should be on your read aloud list, Norman One Amazing Goldfish earns four stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Leave a comment